Ministry of Agriculture derives its mandate from the Government Gazette Notice No. 836 of 2016. Accordingly, its portfolio functions are:
i. Agricultural Credit
ii. Agricultural Development
iii. Agricultural Marketing Policy
iv. Agricultural Research and Specialist Services
v. Agricultural Training
vi. Agricultural Policy
vii. Agriculture Extension Field Services
viii. Food Security
ix. Irrigation Development
x. Seeds, Standards and Grades.

The Ministry is responsible for the following statutory bodies and institutions:
i. Agriculture Colleges and Training Institutions
ii. Cotton Board of Zambia
iii. Food Reserve Agency
iv. Natural Resources Development College
v. Nitrogen Chemicals of Zambia
vi. Seed Control and Certification Institute
vii. Tobacco Board of Zambia
viii. Warehouse Licensing Authority
ix. Zambia Agricultural Research Institute
x. Coffee Board of Zambia